Customers Duped by Self Checkout

You may be one of the millions of Americans who now routinely utilize ‘self-checkout’ at grocery stores. Stores tout these machines as “innovations” which save time and money. Both claims are wrong. And if you use these checkouts, you’re only part of the problem.

In a recent visit to my local supermarket, I got a chance to use this ‘technology’ for the first time. All seemed fine at first, but I was soon hit with an anger that made me sick to my stomach. You see, it was then I realized the real master plan behind this ‘ground-breaking’ machinery.

Grocery stores will say the machines are a cost-cutting measure, in that customers are now doing the scanning, bagging, and loading of their own groceries, thus freeing up employees for other functions in and around the store. Some stores have even gone so far as to cut staff, since the ‘self-checkout’ means less for workers to do.

Now I’m no fan of putting able workers out on the street, especially in these tough economic times. But what really gets me about this BS is that most stores using these types of machines do so while still charging full prices for their goods, while refusing carry out assistance, and all the while leaving their parking lots, bathrooms, and general shopping area in shambles. It makes me see red!

When I used the ‘self-checkout,’ I was appalled to find teens and other workers standing idly by as I scanned and bagged my stuff. These visions make me incensed since, not only am I doing their jobs for them, and not only am I paying full price for goods that I bag myself, but I am paying for services that are not rendered! I am paying salaries for workers who stare at me like I am a second-class citizen! I am about to explode!

Look, I’m not trying to get out of work, here. I’ve been known to go to those “U-Save” type stores, where you have to bag your own groceries, pay a quarter for a cart, and all other types of gimmicks.

But at least at these stores, they offer substantial discounts in the final grocery bill, because of the fact the customer is contributing to the job.

Under the ‘self-checkout’ system in place in most major grocery store chains today, the customer not only contributes to the job, but does the entire job himself! The companies consistently refuse to offer any sort of discount or coupon incentive for using the machines!

And to top it all off, the wait at these things is usually longer than it would have been at any other ‘normal’ line, since most people don’t know how to operate the got-dang machines in the first place and end up taking their sweet time, which is usually nearly a year!

They’ll eventually end up smacking the thing, which only brings an employee by to ‘help’ them. Where was that employee in the first place?!

Do we really want to live in a society where we are completely devoid of social interaction? Get your money from an ATM, get your car washed in a drive-thru, buy your stamps through a vending machine?

These types of machines mark the end of social skills, my friends. Welcome to the automated world!

by Jon Novin; Gaseoustania Tonight

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Wonderful site and theme, would really like to see a bit more content though!
    Great post all around, added your XML feed! Love this theme, too!

  2. Amazing post. I have bookmarked your site. I am looking forward to reading more

Leave a Reply

