Sick as a Deceitful Dog

News: New York City lawmakers have approved paid sick time for workers, joining a handful of other cities and the state of Connecticut. Supporters of the measure say workers will no longer be forced to choose between health and financial security. Opponents say it will hurt small business, and cause abuse of the system.

______________________________________________

Comment: Of course the system will be abused! If you know you’re getting mandatory paid sick time, why wouldn’t you call off work every time you feel a little scratch in your throat?!

I work with a hypochondriac. I guess I’ll never see him again after this. He’ll just be sitting at home “sick,” raking in the moolah while I work my ass off!

No one likes ill co-workers, I’ll give you that. But this is like throwing money straight out the window. There are no parameters on what constitutes being sick, no required doctor’s notes… nothing.

What’s next? Letting kids ditch school whenever they feel like it, because they don’t like to sit for that long?! Ridiculous!

______________________________________________

GT News & Comment

by Frank Calling | News Editor | Gaseoustania Tonight 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Jake Razmaienski June 27, 2013 — 6:47 pm

    I worked a job that did not pay for sick time. I went to work every day when I was ill until I passed out at my desk. I had to take three weeks off, without pay, to recover. Had I been able to take a day or two at the beginning, the whole thing might have been avoided. So you can shove your ‘opinions’ in your ass.

  2. As a small business owner, I can’t afford to have employees just taking off whenever they want to. Anyone who abuses the system with me will be fired, no questions asked. It’s as easy as that.

Leave a Reply

